Kunsthalle Rostock, Opening of the 8th Biennale der Ostseeländer, 1979 | © Jürgen Sindermann


20.11.2021 – 20.02.2022
For this exhibition works from the collection of the Kunsthalle Rostock will travel to the Reinbeckhallen in Berlin. The themes of exhibition policy, the Kunsthalle collection, and, in particular, the latter’s dialogue with Berlin's cultural life will be examined from the perspective of both institutions.

The starting point of the exhibition is a selection of objects dated from 1908 to the present — paintings, sculptures, prints and photographs — from the Kunsthalle Rostock collection. It will also offer an impression of the Kunsthalle Rostock’s atmosphere and program by including furnishings and documentation of past exhibitions. These artworks, which may be seen in the exhibition hall of the former industrial complex of the Stiftung Reinbeckhallen, in Berlin-Schöneweide, alongside a selection of works from the collection of the host institution, reveal conceptual and thematic similarities between both institutions. These are complemented by works created by contemporary artists who have exhibited at Kunsthalle Rostock in recent years. Both spaces are thus responding to the demand of the present for a common dialogue and the necessity of moving closer together.

The exhibition is curated by Tereza de Arruda in collaboration with the Stiftung Reinbeckhallen and Kunsthalle Rostock. The art historian has been a guest curator at Kunsthalle Rostock since 2016 and has worked on various projects of the Stiftung Reinbeckhallen.

The exhibition is accompanied by a program consisting of artist talks, tours, and educational guided tours. The overview of the accompanying program can be found here.

The exhibition catalog, designed by Huelsenberg Studio, will be presented on December 11, 2021.

The project is supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, the Ministry of Education and Culture of the State of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and the Representation of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in Berlin.

Participating artists
Gudrun Arnhold (*1940), Bernd Altenstein (*1943), Hennig Andersen (*1944), Theo Balden (1904–1995), Norbert Bisky (*1970), Abel Barroso (*1971), Emmanuel Bornstein (*1986), Jörgen Buch (*1961), Reinhard Buch (*1954), Jacqueline Brito Jorge (*1973), Yamilys Brito Jorge (*1972), Julio Cesar Penã (*1969), Max Delgado (*1963), Edith Dettmann (1898–1987), Thomas Florschuetz (*1978), Aliosky Garcia (*1979), Gregor Hildebrandt (*1974), Leiko Ikemura (*1951), Dietrich Reinhard (1932–2015), Rene Fransisco (*1960), Wolfgang Friedrich (*1957), Wieland Förster (*1930), Hermann Glöckner (1889–1987), Ludwig Godenschweg (1889-1942), Richard Heß (*1937–2017), Ibrahim Miranda (*1969), Uwe Kowski (*1963), Clemens Krauss (*1979), Karlheinz Kuhn (1930–2001), Willi Lammert (1892–1957), Luis Lamothe (1822–1869), Alexis Leyva (Kcho) (*1970), Ute Mahler (*1949) & Werner Mahler (*1950), Gerhard Marcks (*1889), Maix Mayer (*1960), Andreas Mühe (*1979), Konrad Mühe (*1982), Osmeivy Ortega (*1980), René Penã (*1957), Carlos Quintana (*1966), Gerhard Rommel (1934–2014), Lázaro Saavedra (*1964), Chiharu Shiota (*1972), Lothar Sell (1939–2009), Joachim Sendler (*1974), Ramona Seyfarth (*1980), Margarete Scheel (1881–1969), Siegfried Schreiber (1928–1988), Otto Schutzmeister (*1920), Wolfgang Skoluda, Reinerio Tamayo (*1968), Sergei Tchoban (*1962), Carl Timner (*1933–2014), Joel Valdivia, Dieter Weidenbach (*1945), Heinz Wodzicka (*1930), Tanja Zimmermann (*1967).